Ad Nauseam vol. XII

musikanterna.jpg

 

Bishop: Ahhh! What the hell am I looking at? These just keep getting creepier and creepier…
Actress: You are looking at one of a slew of “dance bands” that were (and possibly still are) very, very popular in Sweden in the 60′s and 70′s…
Bishop: Are you kidding? That sounds about right based on the appearance, but the thought of it being a reality is so, so painful.
Actress: This is no joke, baby. Bjorn from ABBA was quite the popstar in one of these very bands before ABBA hit the world’s stage.
Bishop: I know I’ve joked about the annoyance of bands dressingly uniformly before, but this is beyond the pale (and that’s not a joke about the Swedish lack of skin pigment).
Actress: Electric blue velveteen is a beautiful thing… c’mon….
Bishop: It’s good to see racial diversity in music, isn’t it?
Actress: Hey, one of them has brown hair.
Bishop: I’m not at all kidding when I say I think the four in the front are clones. Seriously. Clones.
Actress: There is a serious family vibe going on there, no doubt. What I want, is to see those flares in full flight.
Bishop: Be careful what you wish for.
Actress: Be careful how you tempt me. I’ll be off to YouTube before you know it…
Bishop: Nooo!! Any guesses as to what “Musikanterna” means? The band’s name? The album title? Possibly?
Actress: I’m under the impression this is a band poster. I have a bunch of them ready to go, you’ll be pleased to know, all in glorious technicolour. So, I’m thinking, band name…
Bishop: Wow.
Actress: Unfortunately the trusty Babel Fish doesn’t cover Swedish…
Bishop: I’m assuming it means “terrible music”. Or possibly “the muskrats”
Actress: Or, maybe “lapels are GO!”
Bishop: Go and enormous… True fact: if you stitched together the material used to make lapels alone in the 1970′s, it would cover the Pacific Ocean 1,356 times.
Actress: Wow, that’s handy to know. You’re so smart. I love you, baby.
Bishop: I love you, darling. Now let’s never speak of Musikanterna again.
Actress: I’ll agree, but only if you agree to wear a pair of blue velveteen flares for me. Please. I insist.
Bishop: The things I do for you!

6 Comments

Filed under Ad Nauseam, Plastique Fantastique

6 responses to “Ad Nauseam vol. XII

  1. 70s fashion is a scary scary thing!

  2. Isn’t it just? Even scarier is the fact that those men liked that particular outfit so much, that they ALL decided to wear it. The mind boggles.

    ~Actress

  3. They all decided to wear it and they all thought they looked HOT.

  4. Oh God!!! I keep thinking that I’m going to look at one of these pictures and see the parents of one of my high school friends. I’ll bet the polyester manufacturers of America all became multi-millionaires during the 70′s.

  5. KELI ~ But they DO! I’m still trying to decide who is my favourite. Rawwwr….

    moonbeam ~ Well, seeing as this bunch of hotties is from Sweden, I think you’re safe. Unfortunately the Bishop and I can not guarantee your safety for future postings. Please accept our humble apologies.

    I’m still trying to decide if I’m more of a fan of polyester or velour…

    ~ Actress

  6. The guy on the top left stole Richard Simmons’ hair!

Leave a Reply

